Gefilte Fish Out of Water


“Two!”
February 27, 2010, 9:46 pm
Filed under: Friends | Tags: , ,

 

Last week my niece turned two.  Of course, I wasn’t able to be there at her party, but I did Skype my her with my brother and sister-in-law, and it was a really great conversation.  They thought to have her wait to open my gifts until the conversation, so I got to see her reaction! 

I bought her two things – including a Melissa & Doug stamp set.  But that’s not the one she got excited about.  I also got her an 8-foot diameter parachute – for flopping around with friends like they do at Gymboree.  Well, my sister-in-law Lauren opened it up for her, and she loved it immediately !!!  They played with it for a bit, and then she gathered every single toy she owns and placed them on it (which apparently was a total hoot for her). 

This brought me so much joy to see her reacting this way.  Not seeing my family and friends in the flesh is far and away the most difficult part of living in a foreign country.  But it was truly heartwarming to know I had involved myself in her life in a way that is bringing her happiness.  

My mom babysits her weekly, and she also reported that Alexa is still loving the chute.  Here’s some more pics of her playing w/it, and also of the rest of family – now that I’ve finally found this elusive Skype screenshot folder! 

Lauren & Alexa play w/the parachute.

 

Lauren taking the 'chute out of its bag.

 

My niece being flat-out adorable.

 

Playin' w/da 'chute.

 

Hmmm....what next? (cameo by her fave, Elmo)

 

W/her dad (my bro), w/whom she shares her birthday.

 

W/my mom, both wearing silly hats.

 

My awesome cousin Jennifer wishing me a Happy Birthday in January.

 

My Bestie Chip (aka Danielle) & her kids Maya & Jake.

 

BYE !!!

BYE !!!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

