Gefilte Fish Out of Water


Scouts Gone Wild
February 20, 2010, 3:42 pm
Filed under: Cool Things

  

I’m fortunate to live next to Park Hayarkon, Tel Aviv’s version of Central park.  Although I’m not jogging in it like I used to, Pete and I go to the main Dog Park inside almost every day.  

Last Shabbat, I woke up to the sound of tribal drumming.  I’m not still at the club? i thought  Srsly, though – what was it?  There were also periodic announcements from a megaphone, whistles, and cheering.  Obvs, some type of event was going on there.  I was curious enough to check it out, but was getting a late start and figured it would be over by the time i got over there.  

Hardly.  The easiest way to describe it was Color War.  Everywhere you looked, kids with face paint going apeshit.  

  

  

I met up with my friend Danny (and this 3 dogs – Michelle, Sika & Yoko) in the dog park, and we walked back over towards the chaos on our way out.  Oh, those are the Sea Scouts, (aka Israel Boy and Girl Scouts Federation) he told me.  

It looked fun.  They were having boat races, and whenever a new one started – look out!  Because swarms of kids would follow along the river bank, yelling for their team.  

The yellow boat looks like they could be senior citizens! I guess, counselors are allowed to play.

 

And they completely tricked out the park with colorful signs and tents.  

  

After some tug-of-war, it looks like the “blue team” won.  

  

Nifty.  That’s it.  

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

