Gefilte Fish Out of Water


Epic Foursquare Dork
February 20, 2010, 4:21 pm
Filed under: Cool Things | Tags: , ,

Location-sharing and geo-tagging are social media trends for 2010.  Twitter, Facebook, you name it – with more people having GPS in their phones, everybody’s service is going location-specific.

That’s fine and all (although, a cautionary tale – are we all asking to be robbed?)  Personally, though, I thought it was a little Big Brother to let everybody know where I am all the time (although I seem to have no problem telling them what I’m doing round the clock).  But if I was gonna do it, I’d probably choose a service like Yelp, which is all about sharing local reviews of places, restaurants, etc.  That makes sense to me.

I would certainly most NOT be participating in the “game” called Foursquare.   You’ve seen people playing this, even if you’re unaware of what it is.  Did you ever see in your Facebook newsfeed, updates from people that just say that they “checked-in” somewhere?

That’s it.  That’s people “playing” Foursqure.  Wee!  not  Ooh, or maybe they became the “Mayor” somewhere?

The Mayor.  Gimme a break!  I don’t care if early adopter Marko is doing it.  I don’t give a crap about checking-in anywhere, and I will not be doing this!  Except that Mashable wouldn’t shut up about location-sharing, and well, as you can see by the two updates I cut/paste into this post, yeah, I’m doing it now.  And, ahem….

(loving it – shh!)

OMG, I can’t wait to check-in wherever I go.  And becoming the Mayor feels da bomb – who knew ?!   In fact, my life’s mission now has become to usurp “Enrico M.”  He’s currently the Mayor of Dog-Park Park Hayarkon…..but not for long (heh, heh).

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…] was appointed 2008’s Person of The Year by the Mayor of Tel Aviv (the real one, not some Foursquare shiz).  She runs an organization called Because We Care, which is all about educating Israelis to […]

Pingback by Independence Day « Gefilte Fish Out of Water




Leave a Reply

