Gefilte Fish Out of Water


Petey’s Not Sick!
January 24, 2010, 12:29 pm
Filed under: Petey | Tags:

The Pete Man plays in my Birthday Booty Haul (not really - I totes staged this)

Good news, you guys.  Petey does not have a urinary tract or bladder infection.  I collected a urine sample (fun!, actually v. easy), and our vet ran a quick test.  Petey passed every test, and his urine is an indicator that he is perfectly healthy.  Yay, but this cost me 60 shex to find out (not so bad).

So, then what is up with his making me pull him out of his crate and either peeing right outside of it, or trickling some down the stairs?  Apparently, just nerves or excitement.  Um, OK…

I’m not pulling him out of his crate anymore.  I find that if I just sit down in front of it and act affectionate, he’ll run right into my lap.  After some petting and love, I’ll stand up and carry him down.  If it’s midday or less than 3 hours since his last time out, I’ll let him walk down the stairs – but I’m trying this without a leash (instead, I’m waiting to leash him up until we get outside), and I’m guiding him with a treat in my hand and giving him bites of it on the way down – pulling his focus onto eating instead of emptying his bladder.  But if it’s first thing in the morning or after a really long time of being inside, I carry him to avoid any accidents (and need to clean up, and setting off of my temper).

This is working.  I’m hoping he grows out of this whole nervous pee thing eventually though.  I’d love to just be able to say Let’s go for a walk! and he just follows me down 1-2-3, no probs.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

[…] of training with Petey.  Regular G-Fish readers know he’s housetrained, albeit with certain ‘excitement issues.’ Plus, he totes knows “Sit.”  But that’s about it.  Yoda Jeremy’s like, […]

Pingback by Petey got ‘Stay!’ « Gefilte Fish Out of Water

[…] The “overexcited” – where he either pees going down the stairs (sometimes trickly, sometimes almost full-on), or starts to pee in the lobby before I can get the door open so he can go outside. […]

Pingback by Give him away? « Gefilte Fish Out of Water




Leave a Reply

