Gefilte Fish Out of Water


Friends in High Places
January 23, 2010, 11:01 pm
Filed under: Friends

This weekend I got visits from two friends.  Pictured above is my friend Michael Luongo.  I have known Michael a few years from the National Lesbian & Gay Journalist’s Association (NLGJA).  He is an award-winning freelance writer, editor and photographer, concentrating on travel.  His articles appear in places like Bloomberg, the New York Times, and The Advocate.  He’s also authored books, including Gay Travels in the Muslim World and Frommer’s Guide to Buenos Aires.

Michael took me to breakfast on Thursday morning.  It was good to see him and catch up on all the exciting traveling he’s doing.  He had just come from Syria, and tomorrow he leaves for Cairo.  He is a very kind, talented and interesting guy.

Then last night I met my friend Danna Kinsky.  Danna is Israeli, but lives in Los Angeles.  She’s here now visiting family.  I met Danna two years ago when we both worked for Queer Lounge at the Sundance Film Festival.  I did the PR for it, and Danna was house photographer.  She is also a cinematographer.

I worked yesterday on both my nonprofit job and for ROASTe from 3pm until 2am.  I was exhausted, but wanted to see Danna, so I txt’d her before I finished, and she said she was still out.  I zoomed over on my bike to the other side of town and met up with her, plus got to meet some of her friends.  The DJ was amazing !!!  His profesh name is “Schoolmaster” (as in old skool), and he was spinning all this old shiz like Janis Joplin & James Brown, but souped up with crazy beats.  Danna is creative and real and energetic as ever.  I was excited also, when she told me she might want to hire me to do a one-month social media campaign for the launch of her new cinematography website, and that her friend is moving to New York soon and I might be able to move into his apartment (if it looks like I have to leave mine in April).

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…] Top Posts biscotti…and the third.Tel Aviv Blossom of the WeekFriends in High Places […]

Pingback by Died & Gone to Sexy Jewish Guy Heaven « Gefilte Fish Out of Water




Leave a Reply

