Gefilte Fish Out of Water


Open Wide
January 16, 2010, 3:12 pm
Filed under: Infrastructure, Struggles

Six months since my last cleaning.  Time to go to the dentist again.  Last summer, my friend Eric recommended his dentist to me.  He did a great job, but turned out to be a private dentist and not covered by my government health insurance.  *gulp*

So I wasn’t going back to him.  I called Maccabi-Dent, the dental division of my insurance and made an appointment to go there.  I went this week.  It was something like $40, I forget exactly, and I was able to get by in Hebrew when dealing with the administrator lady to pay and whatnot.  But my hygienest was a Russian Olah (immigrant) and spoke not a lick of English.  My Hebrew is such that – it’s a crap shoot: sometimes I can recall and cobble together enough words to poorly express what I want to say.  Other times, I just hit a brick wall and can’t.  That’s mainly how it was with my hygienest, Tania.  Luckily I have no problems right now, but if I needed to complain about a pain or receding gum or possible cavity or whatever, I wouldn’t have been able to.  Plus, it’s always good to be able to communicate with a person who’s sticking stuff in your mouth, particularly when it buzzes and whirs.

I thought I would have a chance to speak when the doctor when he came in after cleaning, to quickly examine me, which is what I’m used to in the States.  But apparently, even though it is free, this is something extra you have to ask for when you make the appointment.  Because I didn’t know to do this, I have to come back on Jan 26 to be seen by the actual dentist.  Whatevs.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

