Gefilte Fish Out of Water


Ow, my nose!
November 21, 2009, 8:57 am
Filed under: Petey | Tags:

Yoda says it’s a good idea to play a bit with Petey in the apartment after we come back from a walk before I put him back in his crate.  So, he doesn’t get the idea that being in the apartment = only being in the crate = a punishment.

So, sometimes we’ll play tug-of-war with his rope toy, and sometimes we’ll roughhouse, and sometimes I just lay on my back and let him lick the hell out of my face as much as I can stand it.

Well, sometimes Petey gets a little carried away and uses his teeth along with his tongue.  He’s bitten my lip once or twice, and my nose, as you can see in this picture.  It really hurt, and I reflexively cried out Ouch! (Samadar says crying a fake Ouch! sound is a good way to teach him not to jump up on people.  Like, just like how he’d yelp if I stepped on his tail or hurt him, a dog can understand you crying out as meaning that you’re feeling pain.  So if you make an Ouch! sound when he jumps  up, he’ll begin to understand it hurts people when he jumps up on them.  Even if it doesn’t really hurt, in theory it can get him to stop the behavior.  We’re trying it.)

What do you think, Marcia?

Anyway, it was really hurting, so I stuck my finger in there to dig for gold to check and see if I was bleeding, and yep, I was!  Petey had totes broke the skin.  Good thing he’s had that rabies shot, or else…

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Scott Piro
You are a crazy man/ ha ha ha

Comment by Ram

LOL

Comment by skatp




Leave a Reply

