Gefilte Fish Out of Water


Scott Inc.
October 24, 2009, 3:08 pm
Filed under: Identity, Infrastructure, Work

ronnie

So, my friend Ronnie, who I just wrote about, reads this blog, and likes my writing.  Enough so, that he’s hired me to rewrite some copy for his new website!  I’m excited about it, and I’m going to do a great job for him.  He’s a friend, and I want him to have the best website possible.  Plus, it’ll be a great example to point to on my budding portfolio of freelance writing work.

Last week when I had breakfast with my editor at iGoogleIsrael, Ashley, he told me about a Yahoo group for all kinds of freelance writers (e.g. technical, marketing, creative, etc.) in Israel called CIWI.  I joined it, and yesterday one of their emails appealed to me.  It’s a gig reading transcripts of hour-long health/wellness podcasts and turning them into short fun blog posts.

I thought: I can do this.  I’m answering this one!  Back at my last PR job, one of my clients was SpaFinder, and I had a lot of exposure to medical spas and treatments.  This posting asked that the applicant have knowledge of alternative medicine, and I thought my experience was close enough.  So I fired off an email cover letter and attached examples of my writing (SpaFinder press releases, links to my work website [which I wrote entirely] and blog, articles).  I got a response about 90 minutes later thanking me for applying and saying she would be in touch in the next two weeks.

Yay me.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

[…] much I’ve spent so far, but I took some money out of savings to pay for it, and it’s OK.  Today I went to ACE hardware (open on Shabbat, b/c it’s American-owned) and scored two […]

Pingback by Petey Prep. « Gefilte Fish Out of Water

Great to hear! Yay you, indeed.

Comment by specialkrb




Leave a Reply

