Gefilte Fish Out of Water


Petey Prep.
October 24, 2009, 3:41 pm
Filed under: Petey

IMG_3627

T-minus two or three days until I bring Petey home.  My friend and owner of Happy Dogs dog walking service, Jeremy, took me to two pet stores and helped me buy a lot of essentials – crate, treats, leash, collar, bowl, doggie bed, etc.  And, along the way, he explained many things to me – how to set up the crate, how Petey will have a separate, larger “pen” area to put him in when I’m away, how to use a “kong” to keep Petey occupied when I’m away and make it more of a game for him to get his food, how to doggie-proof my apartment and more.  I’m really lucky to have him as a friend.

I’m not sure how much I’ve spent so far, but I took some money out of savings to pay for it, and it’s OK.  Today I went to ACE hardware (open on Shabbat, b/c it’s American-owned) and scored two doggie gates.  My friend Lawrence is coming over tomorrow to help me connect them to each other and then to the walls of a corner of my kitchen to make the little pen for Petey.

IMG_3628

Petey's place.

The crate arrives tomorrow.  And for food and things like flea treatments, I’ll ask the vet and do what she says.

The pen was the hard part, b/c of the way I’m using two of them to make, like,  a 90-degree angle with it, instead of using it as directed as a sliding gate in a door frame.  And with these gates I found and Lawrence’s handyman skills, I’m gonna be all set.

Gettin’ excited !!!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

