Gefilte Fish Out of Water


Cut the homophobia !
October 17, 2009, 7:26 pm
Filed under: Cool Things, Exploits

n116071441497_6652On Thursday, I went to an LGBT short film festival programmed in response to the shooting at Tel Aviv’s gay youth center on the 1st of August and the murder of two innocent people.

(I actually went on a date with a boy Amir I met last week.)

There were about 40 short films (from :30 seconds to 2 minutes in length) – all on the subject of homophobia and how stupid/bad/dumb/dangerous it is.  The first one was a short doc about a young man who lost his boyfriend that night.  I’m still waiting for him to come home, was the quote from him that ended it.  Wow, powerful.

Most of the films had English subtitles.  Yay !!  I wasn’t expecting this, and figured I would just get whatever I got from the films – the stuff that doesn’t need language to be communicated.  So, this was a plus.

I really enjoyed the films.  Plus, all of Israel’s LGBT VIPs were there, including the only openly gay member of the Knesset (parliament), Nitzan Horowitz, who spoke to the audience passionately for about 15 minutes (just don’t ask me what he said).

I’m glad I joined this group on Facebook and also the TLV Fest, which does an Alternative Movie Night once a month.  First of all, I’m a big Indie Queen, and at my last job in New York, we had several indie and queer film clients.  I even worked at the Sundance Film Festival two times.  It’s clear, these are my peeps.

But more than that, Israel is a small country.  And its gay scene is small, too.  Unlike in NYC, where a bunch of LGBT events could be happening on the same night (Night of a Thousand Gowns, Miss Sobriety Drag Pageant, GLAAD Media Awards, The Black Party, the Tony’s) – all of them getting an A-List gay crowd, Israel is small enough that there’s only gonna be one Main Event type gig per night, b/c the scene just ain’t big enough to support more than that.

So, I want to go to as many of these Big Events as I can.  I’m not obsessed with or only all about the Gay Scene, but it is important to me, and I want to be a part of it.  A long time ago, in a galaxy far, far away I loathed myself for being gay.  When I got over that, for me, I had to embrace it.  I’m not only Gay, but I am definitely

GAY

I wore my artist friend Scooter Laforge’s new Farrah Fawcett t-shirt (of her iconic swimsuit poster).  I wanted to be seen and have hotties ask each other Who’s that?

Fullscreen capture 10172009 93422 PM

In between each film, they showed the same little promo clip over & over.  It ended with the logo of a pride flag snapping open & shut, as if it were a director’s “action!” slate.  Very cute.  And the voiceover ended with ” ohseem cut la homophobia.”  In Hebrew, a lot of times new words that come into the language from English will retain their English sounds.  So עושים קאט להומופוביה translates to “Cut Doing Homophobia.”  Anyway, I thought it would be really funny if more and more of the crowd started saying that last line every time (we heard it enough!).  So, you know, by the end of the night, you’d have the whole audience saying the line out loud and laughing.  It couldda been really fun.  But I kinda pussed out, since I’m still kinda a Newbie here.

Anyway, here’s some pics from the event.  Sorry, they’re from my BlackBerry camera, which ain’t very good.

openly gay Knesset Member Nitzan Horowitz speaks to the audience

openly gay Knesset Member Nitzan Horowitz speaks to the audience

the filmmakers and actors all invited to the stage at the end of the night

the filmmakers and actors all invited to the stage at the end of the night

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

