Gefilte Fish Out of Water


The Guy from the TV who talks to you.
October 11, 2009, 11:40 pm
Filed under: Amerijones, Feelings

IMG_3072

You guys know that I became an uncle last year, and that it’s very important to me.  I’ve written about it a lot before – like herehere and here.

Well, one of the things I was most looking forward to on my trip back home was to spend time with her.  On my first night back in my hometown, I fished my wish.  My mom brought me over to my brother’s house to have dinner with him and my niece (my sister-in-law was traveling on business).

The pic above is of me presenting Alexa with my present for her – a handmade hand-puppet of a little girl.    I hope she likes it.

We also got to have brunch a few days later.  I guess if you have little kids, you will know that one of the things adults like to get toddlers to do it high-five you (and in the Obama age, to “pound” you).  Everyone was pounding with her, and she was pounding us all back….’cept me.  I don’t blame her; despite having bi-weekly video skype chats with her, I’m not around her, and she doesn’t really know me.  It hurts a little, but it’s very logical.

But just when we were quitting the game, she gave me one – a pound !!!  I asked her mom to snap this pic, I was so happy.

IMG_3117a

But the absolute best part of spending time with her was when her mom, dad and me took a 4-hour road trip to see my Dad.  I got to spend four whole hours right next to her!  🙂  I totally broke out the finger puppets I’ve been using to put on little shows for her over Skype.  It was like a live version of Sesame Street or The Muppet Show, with two little puppets having a conversation right in front of her…and then asking her a question, and having her answer the puppet (as if it were real);  Hot damn, I was activating her imagination !!!  My hope was that her young mind would somehow make the connection from the “live show” I put on in the car to the ones I did over Skype, and she’d get a lightbulb moment where she realized OMG, you’re the guy from the TV who talks to me !!!

That probably wasn’t realistic, but she’s very, very smart, and is learning new words at a breakneck clip.  All the time, she was randomly pointing at stuff (correctly) and proclaiming “trees,” “trucks,” etc.  Plus, I’d teach her a new one (“mountain”), and then she would use it correctly 5 minutes later (or even better – the next day!)

We sang one of her favorite songs together, I’m a Mess! (though she was really into “Laurie Has a Pig on Her Head“).

Meekin !!

Meekin !

The Skype chats will continue now that I’m back in Israel, but I’ve definitely got work to do, in order to stay a fixture in her consciousness.  I used to worry out it, but today I’m not so much.  It’ll be alright, and all these posts about her will one day let her know how much I love her.

Here’s a cute timeline of me giving her her present:

SCOTT: Alexa, I got somethin' for you...    ALEXA: I'm intrigued, really I am...but, um, who ARE you, man ??

SCOTT: Alexa, I got somethin' for you... ALEXA: I'm intrigued, really I am...but, um, who ARE you, man ??

Oh, alright - can't resist !

Oh, alright - can't resist !

Ignore how dorky I look, and look at how cute the little girl dolly is!

Ignore how dorky I look, and look at how cute the little girl dolly is!

Uh...ah, I dunno.  You look pretttty dorky.  But, by'Golly, that is some Fire Red hair if I ever did see some!

Uh...ah, I dunno. You look pretttty dorky. But, by'Golly! - that is some Fire Red hair if I ever did see some!

SCOTT: I love you, Alexa.  ALEXA: I know, I can tell.

SCOTT: I love you, Alexa. ALEXA: I know, I can tell.

No givebacks !!!

No givebacks !!!

Thank you, Uncle Scott.

Thank you, Uncle Scott.

And here’s one more with some WOW Factor:

How cute is she now?  How cute is she gonna be when she grows up ???

How cute is she now? How cute is she gonna be when she grows up ???

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

