Gefilte Fish Out of Water


When in Rome, get sucked back into the Pop Culture orgy.
October 4, 2009, 10:04 pm
Filed under: Amerijones, Pop Culture

runway

As a two-bit Pop Culture junkie (no longer hardcore, but still like to at least know what’s going on), when I first considered moving here, I asked pretty superficial questions like Will they deliver my Entertainment Weekly subscription here? (No)  How will I watch LOST? (Easy: sites like TV Shack and TV Dome stream everything next day for free, and if they don’t have the program you want to see (like Kathy Griffin: My Life on the D List), you can download a program called Hotspot Shield, which – when you change your computer’s clock to Arizona Time and then use the program, fools sites like Hulu.com into thinking you are in Arizona and allows you to stream.  More details are here.) Can I still buy from the American iTunes store here? (Yes, if you still have American plastic.)

But then you get here…and that just becomes so less important.  OK, let me rephrase: for me, staying current on all the new hit series just didn’t matter as much.  The essentials – LOST, American Idol, Kathy Griffin: My Life on the D List, Mad Men, Project Runway – these I had to find a way to watch, and I’d have been very disappointed if I couldn’t make that work.  But lesser stuff?  Meh, I was having a Real Life Adventure, man – pop culture just doesn’t compare.  Being an adult male in language school for immigrants, studying with Jews from all over the world – um, a little more compelling than then next episode of Top Chef (no offense, Foodies).

My system for finding out new music (first reading new reviews in Entertainment Weekly, then sampling the tracks on iTunes, then trying to steal them off Limewire, and if I can’t get a good copy buy it off iTunes), was kinda challenged, b/c I feel like not all the reviews are included on EW.com – but that plus hearing via Facebook what friends in the U.S. are listening to is enough to keep things in check.

And movies?  Most of them come out here the same weekend as in America.  I’m a big Indie Queen, so I’m a little concerned about what I’m going to do come Oscar time when I want to see all the nominees (plus, um, how’m I gonna watch the ceremony live at 3am Israel Time – is that even possible?)  But by and large, it’s not like ruffing it at all.

I’m getting a little off track.  The main point is the one I made earlier – that American pop culture just matters less to me now, b/c my life is just That exciting and new to me.  And technology makes it possible to get your absolute fix.

But, then plop me back in America….

….and I’ve got a stack of Entertainment Weeklys to gorge in, I can see sleeper hits like District 9 that aren’t available here, and I’m inundated with ad campaigns on the subway for new TV series like Cougar Town (with Courtney Cox!), the new Vampire Diaries from Kevin Williamson (with unrealistically intellectual teens talking just like on Dawson’s Creek!) , and that very LOST-y Flash Forward (where everybody in the world faints at the same time for 2 minutes, and everyone has a premonition about the same day six months from then – wow!) – I’m too weak, God !!  I cannot resist suddenly caring about these new shows!

But then, you know, I get back to Israel, and it’s like – meh, whatevs.  Maybe I’ll check some of them out.  But even with taking a break from Ulpan (language school) the next few months – who has time?  Although, my friend Court told me I can access his actual Time Warner cable box via something called SlingBox…

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…]  I’m too busy to watch hardly any, plus cable is super expensive (for my budget), plus I can watch any American shows I want online for […]

Pingback by Lavan Noise « Gefilte Fish Out of Water




Leave a Reply

