Gefilte Fish Out of Water


The more things change…the more they change.
October 3, 2009, 11:45 pm
Filed under: Feelings, Just Sayin'

9th-avenue-bike-lane-manhattan

What recession?

I’m sure everyone in New York would chew me out for that one, but I noticed my first day back two gorgeous buildings that went up in Chelsea – 1 Jackson Square (pictured), where there used to be a crap parking lot, and another new/funky/large apartment building on Runway Eighth Avenue.

Plus, there’s all these new bike lanes that have gone up – I can really appreciate this, now that bicycling is my primary transportation in Tel Aviv.  Maybe developers and the city ain’t that broke?

Anyway, noticing all of this at once did make me feel not “a part of” Manhattan anymore.  But, hey, that’s OK – and the feeling passed.  Plus, I’m happy for New York, if it really is in recovery.  Both buildings I saw are gorgeous, and I’m sure everybody is enjoying the bike paths.

I did get to enjoy the HighLine, however – a new park developed along some abandoned elevated train tracks in the Meatpacking District.  The views and lighting were pretty at night.  Look:

IMG_3468

Suck it, Jesus. The HighLine is my park now!

Suck it, Jesus. The HighLine is my park now!

A really cool stretch with ultraviolet lighting - that also takes an MRI scan of you as you pass thru.  Sike, not really.  My friends Steven, Dimas and Freddy are in silhouette in foreground.

A really cool stretch with ultraviolet lighting - that also takes an MRI scan of you as you pass thru. Sike, not really. My friends Steven, Dimas and Freddy are in silhouette in foreground.

The glamorous new Andre Balazs hotel, The Standard, which also opened this year.

The glamorous new Andre Balazs hotel, The Standard, which also opened this year.

I put a hyperlink in the last picture to The Standard’s site, but in case it didn’t work here it is again.  The place generated some publicity-slash-flack when it was revealed that guests were taking advantage of the rooms’ floor-to-ceiling windows to give parkgoers below free peepshows.  Now this is my kind of park!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

