Gefilte Fish Out of Water


Food Tally.
October 3, 2009, 1:45 pm
Filed under: Amerijones, Infrastructure, Yum

Starbucks-logo

As anyone who has ever grabbed my love handles can tell you, I love to eat.  However, I don’t love to cook.  There was a time in my life 10 years ago, when I was in a relationship, and he and I did cook for each other.  I could make a few things – omelettes, broiled fish, stir fry, meat loaf, broiled 1/2-chicken; that’s about it.

But more recently, I am just:

A) So super busy that I often don’t get home until late at night, and

B) I just don’t enjoy it.  It’s the last thing I feel like doing after a long, busy day.

So, besides making myself granola in the mornings, I would just eat out a lot.  I’m also a thoroughly routine-oriented person, and if I like something, I will just eat it over and over again until I can’t stand it anymore and need to switch to something else.  Case in point: Chipotle.  Giant, Hagrid-sized burritos made with simple ingredients – vegetarian-fed meat raised in a sustainable way, and organic veggies.  I heart Chipotle chicken burritos so much and would one every day around 5:00 p.m.

Then, there’s also Starbucks, which gives me a totes emotional boner.  I swear, I probably react to The Bux the way most kids feel when they see Disneyland.  And it’s been a challenge finding coffee up to par in Israel, as evidenced by this column I wrote on the subject.  Finally, there’s Billy’s Bakery – opened by a defector from the NYC’s legendary Magnolia Bakery, the cupcakes and cake slices there are just WORTH THE THOUSANDS OF CALORIES THEY PROBABLY CONTAIN.

So, I knew I wanted to have as much Chipotle, Starbucks and Billy’s as I possibly could while I was in New York.  And I did hit all three.  But as Murphy’s Law would have it, sometimes when I was hungry and needed a bite on-the-go NOW, I couldn’t find a Chipotle (even though they’re on like every corner of Manhattan).

So, here, since you didn’t asked for it, is the tally of how much of my fave foods I had while in NYC last week:

Starbucks – 6

Chipotle – 1

(which really should have been three, but I couldn’t get to one in time; must feed the beast, you know.  Both those times I settled for local NY pizza…b/c you know, Israeli pizza is just fake.)

Billy’s – 2

(one trip was two slices of cake – boxed for home – and one cupcake to eat on the way; 2nd trip was merely two slices boxed for home – P.S. is it just me, or does junk food always tastes better when consumed home alone in secret?)

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

i ALWAYS ate my cake from the Valley’s BEST cafe at home in secret in front of the tv. and i always shed a tiny tear while doing so.

Comment by annab




Leave a Reply

