Gefilte Fish Out of Water


Dinner Party
August 23, 2009, 8:52 pm
Filed under: Friends, Yum

IMG_2594

I was invited last week to a nonShabbat Dinner.  It was Shabbat in spirit, in that we were relaxin’ and goovin’ and mixin’ it up/feeling good, and it was definitely a good dinner.  But not so much with the prayers or candles.

My friend Jeremy from Ulpan and his gorgeous fiance Samadar invited me for this dinner, which also had several other Ulpan friends in attendance, as well as Samadar’s Israeli friends.  It was really fun.

They cooked some scrumpsh garlic bread, followed by salad and spaghetti.  Luckily, I did not spill any sauce on me.  I overdressed a little – only a buttondown and slacks, but T.I.I., man, and peeps did shorts/T’s or maybe jeans – but racked up the compliments, so it was almost worth it.  I say almost, b/c the pants were definitely a little snug, if you know what I mean.  Guess all those pints of Ben & Jerry’s Creme Brulee had to go somewhere.  They weren’t unwearable; my ass did look fabulous in them.  But they just weren’t comfy.  Or as Alicia Silverstone as Cher in Clueless once said, I know aliciasilverstone-cluelessit sounds mental, but sometimes I have more fun vegging out than when I go partying. Maybe because my party clothes are so binding.

Total digression, sorry.  Anyway, Samadar is an actress and one of her actress friends totally looked ally_sheedy043008_nclike Ally Sheedy, although apparently she gets told more often that she looks like Sigourney Weaver, which I also saw, but she prefers the Ally comparison.

I got props from Samadar at the end of the night on my mingling skills.  Sure, it was totally easier to hang w/ my Ulpan Peeps, but you never know who you’re gonna meet, right?  So, I made sure to mix it up with her very nice Israeli friends.

Uh, what else?  Not much, except we really had fun laughing it up and talking.  Didn’t stay too late – maybe until 11:30 p.m.  Really enjoyed myself.  Such nice people.  Oh, also Jeremy has a big, beautiful dog.  His name is Merlin, and I think he’s a labradoodle.  Are they big?

One more thing, I brought an apple streudel and some chocolate balls from a bakery called Cake Art.  They were really good, but even I got wrapped up in the napoleon cake that Steph brought.

y’all, שבת שלום 

AnnaBecker & Steph

AnnaBecker & Steph

Eric laughing at something.  The painting in the background is of Jeremy's grandfather.  He painted it himself!  Wow.

Eric laughing at something. The painting in the background is of Jeremy's grandfather. He painted it himself! Wow.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

