Gefilte Fish Out of Water


Dropping Like Flies
August 4, 2009, 8:05 pm
Filed under: Friends, School

flies

Everyone’s got their own path, and I shouldn’t judge.

But it brings me down when olim friends of mine decide to leave Israel and return to their home countries.  On a smaller scale, it also bums me out when friends drop out of ulpan.

Lately in my ulpan class, there seemed a momentum/exodus of students either dropping out or returning to whence they came.

Like there’s this one beautiful couple in my class.  They’re both great students, and one of them is arguably the best of all of us.  And they just announced that come September, they’re audi.  I want to get all judgemental and self-righteous.  Wusses!  You’re really gonna give up just like that?  But underneath is sadness that some new friends are leaving me.

Even my BFF Anutchka repeatedly says she’s audi once her husband’s work commitment is up at the end of 2010.

Jerami’s had health issues and comes and goes.  Mitchell left Tel Aviv and joined a kibbutz.  Dan was conscripted into the IDF.  Those three are off the hook, but I’m still sad to see them go.

I need to remember something Don Miguel Ruiz told me – Don’t Take Anything PersonallyNone of these friends’ decisions and actions have anything to do with me.

Thanks, Don.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

