Gefilte Fish Out of Water


Happy July Arba
July 4, 2009, 6:57 pm
Filed under: Amerijones, Friends

IMG_2447

Hi, guys.  Happy July 4th!

I flirted with the idea of having a party at my apartment.  I have the penthouse top apartment and access to the roof, so we could have had a BBQ up there, all the smokers would be happy, and everybody could easily have gone back and forth from the roof to my apartment.

But I’m really broke until my next sal klittah payment kicks in, and I don’t have a grill, and I asked for help on our Dina’s Ulpan Class Facebook page, but nobody replied.  So when my friend Leah suggested we go to Mike’s Place, a blues bar next to the American Embassy, we were all like, Yeah!  Figured there would be live music and fireworks and sparklers and burgers and hot dogs.

Anna, Leah, Caitlin

Anna, Leah, Caitlin

And it was fun.  My friends Anna, Eric, Caitlin, Leah, Itay and Jeff all came.  They were playing “Glory Days” and “Born in the U.S.A.” by Bruce Springsteen, lots of Credence, Steely Dan and Steve Miller, and then had a pretty good live and deafening blues band.

I had a burger, and I was super psyched for it.  I don’t really eat red meat anymore.  It’s not for vegetarian reasons, but more to avoid all the saturated fat and be heart-healthy.  But July 4th, at the American ex-pat bar, when I haven’t had a IMG_2442burger or any Chipotle burritos, oh God, I am craving them so much, please give me the balls to open the first Chipotle restaurant in Israel, God in months, I went for it.

Meh.  I was hoping for an enormously fat, dripping one, that was like too big for the bun and sort of falling apart as I ate it and really messy.  Instead, it was a very meh bun and burger.  :-/  The fries were pretty good, though.  Especially Anna’s, which she requested well done.  And Eric’s honey buffalo wings were very yum, I have to say.

I had fun with my friends ripping on everyone from class who didn’t show , but I have to say, I think it made me a little sadder than if I didn’t do anything special to celebrate the Fourth of July.  It just wasn’t super packed, and…it was a normal atmosphere inside, but nothing special.  My expectations were that it would be packed with every single American in Tel Aviv, and we’d all be together creating this little bubble of Americana in there, and we’d all really feel it, you know?   And it wasn’t like that.

Itay & Leah (with special guest star, American Flag in the background)

Itay & Leah (with special guest star, American Flag in the background)

Eh, you know what they say?  Expectations are like resentments (or disappointments) waiting to happen.

It was still really fun.  After a few hours, Anna and Eric split, and Leah, Itay, Jeff and me took a walk on the beach.  That was really nice.  With my insane work+school hours, I have only been for one 20-minute dip in the ocean in the entire four months I’ve been here (and I’m a Total Beach Person), so I loved walking in the surf and seeing the beach packed with families and kids.  The water was so beautiful.

Then, I took a bike ride by myself, and now I’m going to do my Hebrew homework if I don’t get lucky online.

Here’s some more pics:

(clockwise from left) Jeff, me, Anna, Itay, Leah

(clockwise from left) Jeff, me, Anna, Itay, Leah

The outside scene, which did have a burger/hot dog buffet, which might've quelled my AmeriJones, but it was too hot when we arrived, so we went indoors for shitty air conditioning.

The outside scene, which did have a burger/hot dog buffet, might've quelled my AmeriJones, but it was too hot when we arrived, so we went indoors for shitty air conditioning.

Girl with Wings

Girl with Wings

Better than fireworks?

Better than fireworks?

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

