Gefilte Fish Out of Water


Talmidim Gone Wild
June 27, 2009, 7:02 am
Filed under: Friends

IMG_2140

It’s old news (for me) already, but on June 11 my friend David from ulpan had a party.  A lot of our class showed up.  It was really fun.

David lives in Jaffa (a.k.a. Yaffa, Yafo, Jafo – there are a million ways to spell this place), which is at the southern tip of Tel Aviv.  I live in practically the most northern part.  No problem, I have my bicycle, so I rode there.

And sweated completely through my sheer white cotton shirt, that the entire back of it was glued to me and see-through.  I looked like I came in 4th in a wet T-shirt contest.  I had to hang it up to dry when I got there and change into one of David’s T-shirts.

IMG_2126Anyway, David lives in a castle in the sky.  It is a gorgeous, gated community of high rises, and I want one.

David also has lightsabers.  Not Kids R Us shiz, real lightsabers, that were used on set during the filming of Star Wars.  Valuable collectors’ items that double as Toys for Scott.

I got to hang with some of my best friends from Ulpan and get to know IMG_2136others.

That’s kinda it, really.  It was a very fun evening.  Also, I shaved my face for the first time since probably October 2008.  My friend Anna talked with me earlier in the week and convinced me we should “dress up” for the party, since our classmates only ever see us in T-shirts and shorts and sweat, and bags under our eyes.  Normally, I can’t be bothered to shave anymore.  That shiz just grows back way too fast.  I use clippers once/week and shave only my neck in b/t.  But for the party, my face was like a baby’s bottom, and I don’t mean it smelled like ass.

Here’s some more pics:

Anna, me, Belinda

Anna, me, Belinda

Anna vamps for my camera.  (She left for the U.S. the next day to get hitched to Eric.  Mazel Tov, Anna!)

Anna vamps for my camera. (She left for the U.S. the next day to get hitched to Eric. Mazel Tov, Anna!)

The Cool Kids hang in the kitchen.

The Cool Kids hang in the kitchen.

Some cool landmark in Jaffa.

Some cool landmark in Jaffa.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

