Gefilte Fish Out of Water


My Guru
June 6, 2009, 12:50 pm
Filed under: Friends, Identity

Guru_nanak

Last week, I had been kvetching to my friend Jerami about not being sure if I wanted to remain at my job past my review in October, but needlessly already feeling anxiety over something that may or may not happen in four months time (longer, really, b/c even if I leave, my boss and I have agreed I would give him three more months to find a replacement).

So much of my life in Israel right now is tied up in this job.  Who am I if I’m not that?  And even though we established that I don’t have to worry about it right now – how will I find something else?  I mean – duh, I’ll use the English job websites, but still was worrying about this, too.

Anyway, Jerami talked a lot about social life and networking.  Not formal, wear-your-nametag networking, but getting out and meeting א List Gays and shiz like dat.  Israel is a small country, she reminded me.  It’s very easy to become a big fish in a small pond here.

Hmm,…   Me, a Big Fish. I like it.  Maybe I’ll become a freelance PR consultant and either help big companies get top tier U.S. press, or help smaller, artier, webbier, cooler , live eventier Israeli companies get the right press here in Israel.  But for that, I’ll need better Hebrew (working on this).

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

