Gefilte Fish Out of Water


It’s curtains for you, kid!
June 5, 2009, 7:43 pm
Filed under: Feelings, Infrastructure, Struggles

IMG_2104

Back home, traumatized.  Seriously.  This doesn’t happen often, but when it does I just need to go to sleep and reboot.

Well, at least I’ll get my curtains up and boost my spirits with their prettiness.

Nope.

Long story we both don’t want me to go into now, but I had to have some custom work done on them to get them over these hooks we needed b/c we couldn’t use the ones they came with.  So, I thought the customization would do the trick nicely…but – first all, I couldn’t get the rod through the left curtain.  (A seam where we had some of the work was blocking things.)  I kept calm, didn’t shred the thing Joan Crawford-style.  First tried to undo some of the single stitches from the back.  Didn’t do the trick.  So, inserted a serrated bread knife inside and tried to undo the blockage by lightly rubbing the serrated knife edge against the stitches.  Opened a hole back up (not great), but not so noticable either.  Got the rod through.  Hung the second curtain.  But… something was just off.  See what I mean?

IMG_2105

Is the weird hanging on the left end just a bad hem job (I've had a few of those! j/k) or the result of "customization gone wrong" up top?

Is the weird hanging on the left end just a bad hem job (I've had a few of those! j/k) or the result of "customization gone wrong" up top?

IMG_2113

Anyway, already feeling fragile, now…worse.  Retreated to nytimes.com, facebook, atraf cacophony.  Stayed up until 4:00 a.m.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…] was unhappy with the way my curtains were hanging and wanted to take one of them down and go back to the dressmaker who hemmed it.  But I was […]

Pingback by Got my bike back. « Gefilte Fish Out of Water




Leave a Reply

