Gefilte Fish Out of Water


White Night
May 30, 2009, 5:08 pm
Filed under: Cool Things

IMG_2068

Wednesday night was Erev Shavuot, but in Tel Aviv it was also ל’לה לבאן, or “White Night.”  My teacher Dina kept insisting that we all check it out.  Basically, there would be free outdoor concerts all over the city – on Rothschild Boulevard, by the beach, all over.  (Side note – I wonder if Dina is a closet party animal.  When she was not in class two Thursdays ago, she told us some story the next Sunday how she rode all over the whole country for two days on the back of a motorcycle.  Also, she said in 1998 when Madonna and Michael Jackson performed separate concerts in Tel Aviv’s Hayarkon Park, she went to both of them.  Hmm…)

Anyway, I don’t like crowds, I don’t drink, and I’ve already been to Mardi Gras four years in a row; plus, I was bone tired.  Did I really need to go to this?  But my sweetheart friend Anna encouraged me to meet she and her fiance out, so I did.  I joined them for a bite, and then we checked out one of the bands, then strolled among the madness a little. 

Cute.  Not the end all, be all.  But cute.  Here’s a few shots:

Back in NY, I'd walk right through this scene (while feeling contempt for the onlookers) if I needed to get to an escalator on the other side.  In Tel Aviv though, my Inner Tourist comes out to play.

Back in NY, I'd walk right through this scene (while feeling contempt for the onlookers) if I needed to get to an escalator on the other side. In Tel Aviv though, my Inner Tourist comes out to play.

On Rothschild Boulevard.  The "100" lights are for Tel Aviv's 100th birthday celebration, going on all year long.

On Rothschild Boulevard. The "100" lights are for Tel Aviv's 100th birthday celebration, going on all year long.

Honey, we should have taken the expressway...
Honey, we should have taken the expressway…
Israel's youth debates the age old question: Dick York or Dick Sargent?
Israel’s youth debates the age old question: Dick York or Dick Sargent?
Not a good place to be if you're a lost chihuahua.
Not a good place to be if you’re a lost chihuahua.
The scene outside Shuk HaCarmel.
The scene outside Shuk HaCarmel.

IMG_2075

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

how hilarious is that shekel photo? you’re too adorable! also – i meant to tell you in class today…i think we should invite Dina to the class party next Thursday…thoughts-feelings-questions-concerns?

ab

Comment by anna

I’m not sure about inviting, Dina. I would love to see her there, but is it better for the classroom and our learning (and shutting up when she wants to talk, etc.) if we preserve more of the boundary b/t teacher and students? Socializing together could have the effect of equalizing things too much, and if we see her as an equal, would we as a whole behave worse in class?

p.s. thx for adorable mention!

Comment by skatp

bring it up as a topic in the facebook group.

Comment by skatp

Madonna and Michael Jackson were in Israel in 1993 🙂 I guess your teacher didn’t want to sound old lol

Comment by k

Or, I didn’t know my Hebrew numbers well enough yet to understand her. 😉

Comment by skatp




Leave a Reply

