Gefilte Fish Out of Water


Fearless in the Classroom
May 30, 2009, 3:28 pm
Filed under: Identity, School

IMG_2057

Wednesday in Ulpan, in the morning session, Dina writes some shiz on the board.  It’s a paragraph making use of the the 2nd of 7 classifications of verbs in the past tense.  “?מ’ כורה” shes asks (“Who reads?”)

I don’t know what happened, but my hand goes up.  Now I am not one of the best students in our class, nor am I the worst.  I’d say I’m above average.  But I’m determined to learn this language to the best of my ability.  There are a finite number of days in class, and I’m going to use them to the max.  This wasn’t a suicide mission; I knew I could get through the paragraph.  But it wouldn’t be smooth, perfect or effortless.  Imagine a 5-year-old trying to read out loud after (s)he’s only been practicing a short time; I mean, I’m going slowly and sounding this shiz out and making some mistakes.  Kinda embarassing.

My point is: if I am going to learn Hebrew, I am going to have to work for it.  So, that’s what this was about.  And I did great!  Yeah, I sounded like a 5-year-old, but I got through it, and after I did, the class applauded for me.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

