Gefilte Fish Out of Water


State of the Domicile.
May 23, 2009, 10:08 pm
Filed under: Friends, Infrastructure

IMG_2037I finished putting together the rest of my furniture yesterday.  Plus got rid of the little island of crap in the middle of the floor.  Then today did a sweep and a mop.  (Very 20th century; I miss my Swiffer and Swiffer WetJet.)

The place is looking so nice.  Clean, white, modern, minimalist.  Happy, happy Scott.

Although, I bought the wrong color cover for my ottoman, so I have to go back to IKEA again.  (Argh!)

Tonight my friend Lawrence came over to totally do for me help put up my window treatments.  We did the bedroom first, b/c it was trickiest.  I got two Roman shades, which side-by-side would cover the window.  Lawrence did a masterful job.  Thank you, Lawrence!

We were stymied, though, by the the other two jobs in the living room.  For the big window, I am going to need ceiling hooks for the curtain rod, not wall hooks that came with the IKEA rod.  (No wall space above my window).  And for the smaller window – d’oh! – despite doing all the measurements before I went to IKEA, I must’ve grabbed the wrong size blinds, b/c they were totally too short.  😦

Oh well, one out of three ain’t bad.  And it’s not a race.  I have plenty of time to keep getting the place decorated.  It’s really coming along.  Thanks again, Lawrence.

The 5 "P"s: Proper Planning Prevents Poor Performance.

The 5 "P"s: Proper Planning Prevents Poor Performance.

Living Room

Living Room

Bedroom window treatment.

Bedroom window treatment.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

