Gefilte Fish Out of Water


My key broke.
May 19, 2009, 10:17 pm
Filed under: Hey!

IMG_1997Big bummer.  Ever since Sunday, my bicycle lock has been acting a little funky.  It’s been kinda hard to turn the key in it.  I did drop it when I was unlocking it, but that shouldn’t break the thing, should it?

Anyway, tonight I was unlocking it to chain my bike to a pole on the street outside my place, and the damn thing broke!  I did use some force to turn it, but it was a fat ass key, and I didn’t think it would break like it was made out of friggin play-dough.

This is a major hassle.  Now I have to worry about the bike’s safety tonight and tomorrow at school, and I have to hope I find a locksmith who can fish the broken part out.  (I have replacement keys).  If not, we have to  cut the thing off, I guess (it’s chained to my bicycle basket), and I’ll have to buy a new one.

Sucks all around.  I didn’t want to schlep the bike inside my apartment, so I hid it behind my apartment building.  I hope it’s still there when I wake up tomorrow!  I burned off a little steam (and hopefully a little more of that awesome Creme Brulee pink of Ben & Jerry’s I ate tonight) by riding it first for an hour in Hayarkon Park.

Now, I’m up way too late (nevermind the time stamp on wordpress; it’s 1:16 a.m. here),  and didnt’ watch “24” or do my Hebrew homework yet.  😦

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Bummer about the key. Hope you got it fixed. I am really enjoying your blog. I look forward to your new entries. I can’t believe you’ve been in Israel 3 months already. Question- how many students are in your Hebrew Class? Take care Scott. And try to get some rest

Comment by Betsy

About 30 students in class. Some have dropped out and a few new ones dropped in this week.

Bike wasn’t stolen last night – whew! Got a cheapie lock in the meantime, but so far, no way of fishing other half of broken key out of lock on my own. Will try and return.

xo!

Comment by skatp

[…] morning I kinda held my breath as I went downstairs and outside.  I had hidden my bike behind my apartment building, but it was unlocked.  Would it still be there?  I didn’t know and was prepared for either […]

Pingback by My bike is safe. « Gefilte Fish Out of Water




Leave a Reply

