Gefilte Fish Out of Water


Wanna Ride Bikes?
May 16, 2009, 8:46 pm
Filed under: Infrastructure

IMG_1961

Now that I moved into my own apartment, which is further away from Ulpan, it was time to buy my own bike.  Even though I’ve been sticking mainly to my neighborhood, I always planned on getting one; it’d be good to have a sense of freedom to get around the city.

My boss told me that bikes are always getting stolen.  For that reason I got an extra heavy lock.  I also bought a used bike.  No, it’s not shiny & new, but I don’t want it to be.  I wanted one that works great but looks roughed up, so it doesn’t catch any thieves’ eyes.  And that’s what I got.  All 18 gears work perfectly, I feel like I’m flying when I ride it, and it only cost me 325 shekels (about $77).  I paid a little more to get a basket put on the back.  I wanted one in the front, but he said those don’t work great with bikes that have gears.  I dunno, I’ve seen them on bikes w/ gears; he probably just wanted to get rid of this one.  But it works great.  I put my enormous school bag in there and a bungie cord around it, and I’m good to go.

Ain’t it cute ???   I even got a little bell for it, though it’s not the iconic sounding kind.  And Israelis could give a shiz about moving when you ding them.  No matter, I really do feel like I’m flying, zipping around town on this thing.  I love it!

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Looking good, Daddy-O!

Comment by specialkrb

Thx, Dearie!

Comment by skatp




Leave a Reply

