Gefilte Fish Out of Water


Babel.
May 4, 2009, 8:46 pm
Filed under: Friends, School

abl5auToday during the long morning break at Ulpan, I hung out with Fabio and Jessica – the two Brazilian students in our class.  Neither one speaks English.  But Portuguese is very similar to Spanish, and my high school espanol proficiency may be clunky, but it’s solid.  Plus, Fabio is really rockin his Hebrew. 

So it went like this: I’d talk to Fabio and ask him questions in Spanish, he’d use his Portuguese skills to understand me, and then he’d answer me in Hebrew, and I would be able to understand him.

Sababa.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

