Gefilte Fish Out of Water


Electronics? Done.
May 2, 2009, 9:45 pm
Filed under: Infrastructure

untitled12

We left Jerusalem before the Roundup ended, and I wanted to try and make the most of my time this evening and cross some big ticket shopping for the apartment off my list.

My friend Lawrence had told me he’d already done the research to find where to get the best deal on Israeli appliances and beds.  I set out tonight for Avi Sofer Ltd. to try and buy some appliances.

And I scored!  After Shabbat ended, they opened up tonight.  In Israel, apartments don’t come with refrigerators, so that was the major-est appliance I had to buy.  I also needed a microwave and a two-burner hot plate.  (This place doesn’t have a stove, but relax – I don’t cook.)

Totally scored all around.  Reasonably priced stuff from a non-smarmy salesman.  Yih, boi !!!

Gets delivered tomorrow.  Tomorrow, I’ll go bed shopping and be able to cross that off, too.  Then later this week, IKEA…

Now, if I could only get my Hebrew studying and homework done, too AND go running, which I haven’t done once since the marathon last week…

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Make sure you get your oleh tax rights on the items you can!

Comment by Lauren

Hi, Lauren – I guess I need to google that to find out more about what you mean. Um…what tax rights?

Comment by skatp

[…] Odd because when I wasn’t in class, I was….decorating my apartment.  I bought a fridge and appliances one day, a bed the next, and on Thursday I went to IKEA.  (More on that […]

Pingback by The Greatest Story Ever Told « Gefilte Fish Out of Water




Leave a Reply

