Gefilte Fish Out of Water


Special Guest Stars at 30 km mark (‘thon dispatch # 5)
April 25, 2009, 8:47 pm
Filed under: Friends, Pot Luck

800px-hayarkon_park3After some tough inclines and empty highway from 20-29 km (where I did pass a cool theme park and water park I wanna check out now), I ran w/ a South African for a little bit.  He told me 32 km was a cool landmark, b/c after that it was only a 10k race left.

Another thing that was cool about that 20-29km stretch was that near its turning point, I got my bearings; I realized we were parallel to the end of my regular jogging route in Hayarkon Park.  I was like, cool!

Then after this stretch, we turned into the park and did the other side of across the river that I always look at but never try running on.  Turns out it’s very nice.  Or, at least it would be without so many joggers coming at me.  (This happened several times.  Since there were four stretches of course where the runners would hit a turnaround point and double-back, I’d always be running into a crush of them running back as I was still heading out.  Not the most fun thing.)

Then at 30km, I had fans!  Anna and Jeremy from Ulpan were right where they said they’d be!  Terrific guys, thanks.  And I got an even bigger surprise when I saw my friend and intern from work/ her BF, too!  Wow, this was terrific!  Wish I couldda stayed and chatted, but of course I kept running…

Wound up on a desolate loop within Hayarkon that I’d never been on before.  Sun kinda baking on me.  No crowds.  Like 1-2 other runners.  A challenging part.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

