Gefilte Fish Out of Water


High School Musical 4 – Falafel Edition
April 19, 2009, 11:34 pm
Filed under: School

img_17991

No, that isn’t West Beverly High.  It’s Goldstein-Goren Ulpan (abbreviated as “Gordon,” or I’ve also heard “LaSalle” – for the name of the street it’s on).  Ulpan is intensive Hebrew school for immigrants.  This day has been in my future for it feels like forever, and it finally came.

So, of course I overslept.  Class started at 8am, and I woke up at 7:33.  D’oh!  Managed to spiff up and motor pretty quickly, and was only gonna be 5 minutes late.  That’s when I checked my registration card and saw that class actually started at 8:15 a.m.  Total bonus from God.  In fact, I wound up being pretty early.  img_1800

Principal spoke first, welcoming us in English.  There was a Russian translator.  Man, I had such a good time there!  There were like a million peeps from London (OK, maybe 8), 3 Parisians, about 7 from the U.S. (NY, FL, CA), 1 from Russia, 1 from Georgia (fmr USSR), 2 from Ukraine, 1 from Brasil, 1 from Argentina, 1 from Canada.

Our teacher was really nice and engaging and funny.  She did a phenomenal job.  I sat right in the front row, and wore my Jeffrey G. “I heart NY” shirt to easily identify where I’m from.

I talked to 3 of the British girls at break, and they were really nice.

img_1801Sorry this is such a boring take on a really important day for me, but it’s 2:21 a.m., I still haven’t done my homework yet, and I’ve got school again tomorrow at 8:15 a.m. Welcome to my new life!

Right after this pic was taken, Zac Efron showed up in a tank top and somehow we all instinctually knew the choreography and lyrics he broke out into and backed him up in unison.  It was really cool, but I missed the shot. 

Oh, no wait – here, I didn’t:

Zac, take the robe off and put the tank top back on

Zac, take the robe off and put the tank top back on

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

