Gefilte Fish Out of Water


Sunday in the park with George.
April 18, 2009, 8:27 pm
Filed under: Exploits

3377670085_4bcb8f75d5

Except it was Saturday, and his name wasn’t George.

Today I had a first date with someone I met on Atraf.  I had a lovely afternoon with him.  We met in Rabin Square and walked to one of Tel Aviv’s many cafes – this one was actually a dessert place off of Ibn Gvirol.  This man is very handsome, but I was especially grabbed by how well he listens and pays attention.  Several times I was blown away when he offered an insight that was uber right on the money.  Great quality.

It was a super clear, blindingly sunny day in the 70s.  After a while I shared how at that moment, I’d love it if we could be in a spot of nature, listening to the sounds of a babbling brook while dipping our feet in it for refreshment.  I didn’t really expect this to happen.  He thought on it for a moment, and said, “Let’s go.”

We wound up in Bialik Square, named after the famous Israeli poet, Ha’im Nachman Bialik, “the national poet of Israel.”  We walked a meandering way to get there.  Down streets and up stairs.  And we came out into the most beautiful, uncrowded, clean public square (actually in the shape of a circle).  It reminded me of Disney MGM Studios, like a Warner Bros. movie lot in sunny L.A. in the 1920s.  Very….pristine, heightenedly vibrant.  Too bad I didn’t have my camera on me, but I found this pic on the web.  Right where the pile of dirt is in this pic, now there is a public fountain with fish in it.  We sat on the side and dipped our feet in.  Is this guy awesome or what?

bialik-square-11

Then, I practiced writing and spelling a little Hebrew with his help.  He was a very good teacher and also explained how related words have a root in common.

Next we walked down to Gan Meir Park, and it was just lovely.  Gardens, dog run, benches, frisbee/games, etc.  The new Agudah (LGBT center) is adjacent, and we went inside for a look.  There was yet another tremendously hip and open cafe (sun/patio, wifi/laptops out, music) that looked really cool, but we decided to walk around some more.  After a while, we both were kinda wiped out, so we called it a day.

Very nice guy.  I will definitely be calling him.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…] a cute guy walks buy.  Wait, I know him.  That’s….Yoav!  A guy I had a date with few months ago.  I ran to the next block and caught up with him.  […]

Pingback by Get Outta Dat 24-Hour Funk, Jew Boy « Gefilte Fish Out of Water




Leave a Reply

