Gefilte Fish Out of Water


Jogging Soundtrack
April 17, 2009, 6:08 pm
Filed under: Feelings

brad-paisley-ar10

Hello?

Ground control to Major Tom…is anybody there?

Yes, I am still here.  Still OK.

Worked hard all day yesterday.  (Yes, I am still working.  Yes, at the same job.)  Also, had a physical therapy session, went to my friend Jean’s place to help her with a computer issue, bought some Power Gels for energy during the marathon.

Then went for a late night jog.  Like, left the house at 10pm.

So nice !!!   It is really safe in Tel Aviv (nay, throughout most of Israel), and it’s fine to jog in the park at night.  There were some other runners & bikers there – but just like in the morning there, it was minus the families w/ kids & strollers, just the diehards.  I hadn’t been running since last Saturday, and hello! – I’m only running my first marathon in five years w/ minimal training. so I needed to get out there.

It really cleared my head, too.  Heard some good tunes, too.  Went for the “4 stars” smart playlist on my iPod, b/c I wanted to sing as I ran, which I really like to do.  I have another smart playlist called “sing” that’s supposed to have songs I like to sing on it, but I find that “4 stars” is sometimes better than it for this.  Anyway…

Early into the run I heard a Sondre Lerche song I like.  But I couldn’t remember the name of it, so I stopped to look.  “It’s Over.”  Oooh, bummer.  But wait, the lyrics are all about how it’s not over.  Well, which is it?  Is the character in the song in denial and the title is right?  Or Sondre saying the song’s title is an oversimplification, and it’s the lyrics that are more accurate.  Whatever man!  I aint writing a dissertation, I’m frigging jogging, here…

Remember what I said about the playlists before?  Well, there were a lot of songs that came on (ones I really like, 4-stars, even…), but I didn’t know the words well enough to sing ’em.  So, I was skipping to the next track a lot.  In the home stretch, the wonderful confessional anthem, “Sometimes You Can’t Make It on Your Own” by U2 came on.  Incredible song.  Maybe even a 5-star song.  Almost left it on.  But…I just was preferrin’ a song with a bigger melody, more fun for me to sing.  So, I skipped.  And that’s when “Find Yourself” by the delish Brad Paisley came one, from the soundtrack of the Pixar movie, “Cars.”  And I sang it.  And it started to do something to me as I did.  It told my truth in real time.

When you find yourself
In some far off place
And it causes you to rethink some things
You start to sense that slowly
You’re becoming someone else
And then you find yourself

When you make new friends in a brand new town
And you start to think about settlin’ down
The things that would have been lost on you
Are now clear as a bell
And you find yourself
Yeah that’s when you find yourself

Where you go through life
So sure of where you’re headin’
And you wind up lost and it’s
The best thing that could have happened
‘Cause sometimes when you lose your way it’s really just as well
Because you find yourself
Yeah that’s when you find yourself

When you meet the one
That you’ve been waitin’ for
And she’s everything that you want and more
You look at her and you finally start to live for some one else
And then you find yourself
That’s when you find yourself

When we go through life
So sure of where we’re headin’
And we wind up lost and it’s
The best thing that could have happened
‘Cause sometimes when you lose your way it’s really just as well
Because you find yourself
Yeah that’s when you find yourself

[God is good]

Decided I wanted some ice cream when I got home, so stopped at a supermarket I was passing to pick up a pint.  Went for the plastic spoon and ate that shit up walking the last few blocks home.  Ben & Jerry’s “Cinnamon Buns.”  Mmmmm, slobber.  “Feelin’ Alright” by Joe Cocker came on.  Enjoyed that walk.  And when the plastic spoon broke in half…I didn’t break stride and ate the rest scooping it with my finger.  And loved it.  Urrp!

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Yay!

Comment by SHJ

[…] I reprinted the lyrics to Brad Paisley’s song “Find Yourself” in what has become my most popular post (because it comes up when people search for Brad Paisley […]

Pingback by Do not make the Wordpress gods angry! « Gefilte Fish Out of Water

Comment by SaBinh

[…] Posts Not the new guy anymoreJogging SoundtrackDinner PartyExcuse me, do you speak […]

Pingback by Scouts Gone Wild « Gefilte Fish Out of Water




Leave a Reply

