Gefilte Fish Out of Water


It’s Something.
April 14, 2009, 9:40 pm
Filed under: Amerijones, Pop Culture

untitled2

Do you recognize this guy?  He’s Saul Rubinek, an American character actor that you’ve probably seen before in tons of TV eps and movies.  I remember him most from his role in Clint Eastwood’s “Unforgiven.”  Remember, he was like the cultured guy who was really out of place in this Western…and I think he pissed his pants in a scene where he was in prison?

Anyway, I was hanging outside w/ friends tonight at Cafe Ashtor in Basel Square, where we like to hang.  We are all having a great time, except everyone was smoking too damn much and it was blowing all over me b/c it is really windy tonight.  But I had a little side thing goin’ on.  I could swear Saul Rubinek was sitting a few tables away from us with a female friend.  Now, I’m not usually shy – even around celebrities.  In New York, I would often approach a celeb I like and say to him/her, “Excuse me, I really admired your work in X.”   (Joan Allen in the Starbucks next to Symphony trumbo2Space on UWS near 96th Street; “The Upside of Anger“; Sarah Jessica Parker in Madame X on West Houston St. after a day of shooting on SATC season 1, episode 4 “The Valley of the Twenty-Something Guys” on which I was an extra – press ‘pause’ in the exact right spot where Carrie’s love interest in sjp_bluefly_flypaper_blogthe episode Timothy Olyphant goes up to the bar to get the girls drinks and you can see me dancing and smoking…I loved how b/c I was right in Olyphant’s line of movement, the director gave two commands to start the scene: “Action!” and then when Olyphant got to a certain point, “Action, Scott!” – ; “Mars Attacks!“; Debra Winger on the Red Carpet of the Gotham Independent Film Awards last year, where I got to live a dream come true and tell her how my favorite scene in a movie EVER is the one in “Terms of Endearment” where she says goodbye to her children from her deathbed in the hospital (and I repeat, like, her whole monologue from the scene…you know, “….I know you like me. I know it. For the last year or two, you’ve been pretending like you hate me. I love you very much. I love you as much as I love anybody, as much as I love myself. And in a few years when I haven’t been around to be on your tail winger2about something or irritating you, you could…remember that time that I bought you the baseball glove when you thought we were too broke. You know? Or when I read you those stories? Or when I let you goof off instead of mowing the lawn? Lots of things like that. And you’re gonna realize that you love me. And maybe you’re gonna feel badly, because you never told me. But don’t – I know that you love me. So don’t ever do that to yourself, all right?” – it’s like she’s easing his consciousness from beyond the grave…so selfless !!!)

But I digress.  (no, really ???)

Anyway, I’m a total star fucker, if it’s not obvious to you by now.  So, my point is: I could’ve gone up to Rubinek and asked if he was, “that famous American character, the one that was in Unforgiven? [pause, for him to say “yes, that’s me“] …I loved your work in that.  Thank you, have a good night.”  But I figured – eh, if he’s 1/2-way around the world from Hollywood, chillin’ w/ his honey in Basel Square in Israel, he doesn’t really need the recognition right now.  So, I left him alone.  But I was quietly obsessing on it.

Anyway, in NYC I saw and talked to tons of stars over the years, and it’s something I’ll miss here if I think about it too hard.  But, hey – I saw Saul Frigging Rubinek in Basel Square tonight; not too shabby!  🙂

Some pics from my fucking heydays, below:

Me w/ Jennifer Coolidge & Parker Posey, Toronto International Film Festival, 2006

Me w/ Jennifer Coolidge & Parker Posey, Toronto International Film Festival, 2006

Amy Adams, Melissa Leo, Debra Winger - backstage at the Gotham Independent Film Awards, 2008

Amy Adams, Melissa Leo, Debra Winger - backstage at the Gotham Independent Film Awards, 2008

Me (dressed as Madonna) with disco legend Gloria Gaynor, backstage at the WB Channel 11 Morning News, 2002

Me (dressed as Madonna) with disco legend Gloria Gaynor, backstage at the WB Channel 11 Morning News, 2002

YouTube founders Chad Hurley and Steve Chen, with David Bowie, The Webby Awards, 2007

YouTube founders Chad Hurley and Steve Chen, with David Bowie, The Webby Awards, 2007

Bottom half of my face w/ Chelsea Clinton, campaigning for Hillary before the PA primary, 2008

Bottom half of my face w/ Chelsea Clinton, campaigning for Hillary before the PA primary, 2008

 

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

