Gefilte Fish Out of Water


On Your Mark.
April 10, 2009, 4:50 pm
Filed under: Cool Things, Exploits

race

Holy shit, bbs – I’m doin’ it!  Running the Israel Marathon on 24 April 2009.  I haven’t run one since 2004, and I’m not uber-trained for it, but it was too good an opportunity to pass up.  What a great way to make myself more part of the city!

From the siteThe event will be held as part of the 100 anniversary celebrations of the economic, cultural and academic capital of Israel.

Mr. Ron Huldai, the mayor of Tel Aviv, will start the race at Charles Chlor garden, on the magnificent beach of Tel Aviv viewing old Jaffa ancient port.

One hundred years ago, in the same area, the founders of Tel Aviv gathered, at what once was a sandy point, to conduct a lottery over the lands on which the first houses of Tel Aviv were to be built.

The race course will pass through the central streets of the city, among which the Rothschild Bld. that was built in 1909, Allenby St. which has been for years, the commercial center of the city, and along the Mediterranean Promenade.

Finishers will join a colorful event of festival and music in the Charles Chlor garden, which will turn this race to an unforgettable experience. 

If I run 10.5 minute miles….what’s my pace per km?  Aim?  Anyone know or nerdy enough to crunch it and get back to me?  OMG, you guys!

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I can’t do that math…I mean, I can, but really…don’t worry about your time! Just enjoy.

Comment by Amy Schrader

I’m telling Gurish on you.

Comment by skatp




Leave a Reply

