Gefilte Fish Out of Water


Coming out of retirement.
April 8, 2009, 11:58 pm
Filed under: Cool Things

 

entranceimage

Yo, saw a billboard today advertising the Israel Marathon on April 24.  Kinda itchin’ to do it.  Some of you know I’ve run 11 marathons before (NYC ’96-’04; Walt Disney World ’98-’99).  But none since 2004.  Now, there’s not exactly time to train properly for a 26.2 mile race that takes place in 16 days.  But I’ve been doing a lot of running here, since my recent elbow surgery has kept me from pumping iron in the gym.  And I’ve been doing long runs, too – a few that were 16 miles.  I could do one or two in the 21-22 mile range, taper in the two weeks left til the race, then have the race just be my peaking moment.  It could work.  I wouldn’t wanna injure my hip like I did in ’05, but you know, I would take it easy in the race and not care if I was towards the back of the pack.  I don’t need to win this thing, I just think it would be really exciting – to have my new friends cheering on the sidelines for me (A-T-T-E-N-T-I-O-N)…a short-term goal to get totally focused on and pumped about….a great way to see a bit of the country outside of Tel Aviv.

I’ll get someone to translate the site for me and see how much it costs.  And – I’ll ask YOU!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

