Gefilte Fish Out of Water


WHAT Pop Culture Blackout ???
March 29, 2009, 8:22 pm
Filed under: Amerijones, Pop Culture

us-tv-show-page-power-image-jan09-5

Today some olim angels saved my life.

If you’re livin’ in Israel and you miss your American TV, listen up:  this post is your one stop shop to mainlining all that juicy, high fructose corn syrup, Americana Hollywood ooze once again.

HERE IS HOW TO USE YOUR COMPUTER TO WATCH ALL THE FOREIGN TV SHOWS YOU ARE MISSING:

1) If streaming video is your thing, check out these sites:  TV Shack, TV Dome and NinjaVideo (*cue heavenly music from God/heavens*; thanks, P & S!).  Or, check out this post.  Basically it says to download Hotspot Shield.  Once you have, then go to your computer’s time/date settings and set them to Arizona.  Then, open the Hotspot Shield program, and it’ll give you a fake I.P. address, so when you go to hulu, ABC.com, NBC.com, CBS.com or Fox.com, you won’t that soul-crushing, “Sorry, streaming videos are only ahttp://www.mininova.org/vailable to viewers in the United States” message.  It worked for me on hulu, and with the network sites, I was able to circumvent the outside-the-U.S. issue…but the players just wouldn’t load, so that solution wasn’t so hot for me.  I just caught up on LOST thanks to TV Dome, and I officially bow down and lick that site’s combat boots.

2) Now, if you’re more of a downloading kind of Oleh, you have another set of options.  There are SurftheChannel, Great Stuff TV and e-mule, which give you links to download sites (thanks S again, R, and A/Y!).  Then there’s Mininova (thanks M!) which requires you do download Torrents – which is like stealing music off Limewire, only you’re taking pieces of the media from hundreds of computers at once, so it’s good for bigger media like TV episodes and movies.  Other torrent client sites include: Bittorrent (thanks, J!), Utorrent, (M!) and for Macs:  VUZE (M again!; *Mac users, you are welcome.  Please send iPhones in appreciation to…*).

So, click away, Olim and enjoy your favorite flavor crystal filled American mind candy!

7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Thank you for linking to my post: How to watch NBC Streaming Video using Hotspot Shield.

Comment by HideIP

You bet. That guy Patrick got a little snippy afterward, didn’t he?

Comment by skatp

[…] that point, I used to watch some TV on my computer, blog some posts and go to sleep.  Howadays Nowadays, I struggle through 90 minutes of Hebrew […]

Pingback by S-Q-U-E-E-Z-E-D « Gefilte Fish Out of Water

[…] to gain access to my most favorite American TV shows, movies, and music here in Israel.  I did a post on the TV stuff back in March.  But the two most important sites for me to not miss the shows I wanna see are: TV […]

Pingback by State of My Jewnion « Gefilte Fish Out of Water

[…] will tell you programs are unavailable to us in Israel b/c of copyright issues.  More details are here.) Can I still buy from the American iTunes store here? (Yes, if you still have American […]

Pingback by When in Rome, get sucked back into the Pop Culture orgy. « Gefilte Fish Out of Water

[…] he’d have an accident, I’ll take him out of his crate and let him sit in my lap as I watch internet TV in my delicious Le Corbusier lounge chair before bed.  (Loving and will be sad to see the seasons […]

Pingback by Lullabye and Goodnight « Gefilte Fish Out of Water

[…] am pretty much set when it comes to getting my American pop culture fix over here in Israel.  iTunes and Limewire cover my music needs and TV Shack hooks me up TV & […]

Pingback by Gefilte Fish Out of Water




Leave a Reply

