Gefilte Fish Out of Water


Dollar Store
March 29, 2009, 9:17 pm
Filed under: Infrastructure, Official Immigrant Stuff

dollar-bill

Also went back to the bank today.  Totally not as bad as I thought it might be.  I was already authorized to have this dollar sub-account attached to my main account, same account number and all.  It costs $20 minimum fee (or .19% of deposit) to wire dollars from an American account.  It costs $6.70 minimum fee (or .19% of transfer) to move it from the dollar sub-account to the main shekel one.  And, I can do that transfer online for a lower fee.

Yay, all around!

The only lame thing?  The grant check I gave them will take one month (“I hope not longer,” says the rep when I ask her, “Maybe less?”) to clear.  *cue Debbie Downer music*

Bright side: it went down exactly like I called it.  What I was afraid of was not so bad after all.  I even had a friendly (if fashion challenged), English-speaking bank rep.

🙂

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

