Gefilte Fish Out of Water


TLV BBQ
March 21, 2009, 7:15 pm
Filed under: Friends

img_1719

I was so happy when my new friend Liron (from Israel) called last night to invite me to a barbeque this afternoon.  Another new friend of mine Stan (from Belgium) picked me up today around 3:45 p.m.  We picked up Liron and drove to a nice neighborhood in a suburb just outside of Tel Aviv (I forget what it’s called).

Let me tell you – we had the best time!  Bruce (our host, from Arizona) grilled skewers of lamb, spring chickens, and chicken liver.  I tried chicken liver for the first time.  I wasn’t wild about it.  It was OK.  Very soft – like it wasn’t meat.  It was weird.  Seasoned well, but I gave my other one away to Boris.

I played Guitar Hero for the first time and sucked at it.  I only finished 23% of my first song (Pat Benatar’s “Hit me with your Best Shot”).  I thought I did better on my second song (Kiss’ “I Wanna Rock ‘n’ Roll All Night”), but apparently not, b/c I only got through 20% of that one.  Eh, whatever.  I had fun.

Lawrence (from Toronto) and his wife Hadas (an Israeli, who is so spirited, it’s awesome!) were there.  So were Brandon (from L.A.), Barbara (Las Vegas) and her BF Doron (Israel), David (NY) and his wife Gladys (Philippines), and Boris (Russia). 

Hadas and Doreet (our hostess, also from Arizona) made amazing middle eastern salads (and later, desserts).

img_1717

I talked with Bruce & Doreet’s cool daughter Heleit and her partner Hila.  They live in a T.A. neighborhood called Florentine, which is very young and hip.  Hila is a filmmaker and she loved that I went to NYU film school and represented clients at PKPR like Queer Lounge and IFP.  Heleit invited me to dinner, and Doreet said I should totally go, b/c her neighbor across the hall is gay, buff, and my age.  Well, then!

All in all, I had a fantastic evening, and I’m so glad I was invited.  I’m really glad to making good friends.

Bruce at the grill.

Bruce at the grill.

Liron rocks out to Guitar Hero.  (It's hard!!!)

Liron rocks out to Guitar Hero. (It's hard!!!)

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Scott, you forgot to mention the chicken hearts that we ate as well! did you try one? if not, you will have PLENTY more opportunities. i enjoyed the post of the bbq. it was fun and having you in Israel is awesome.

Comment by Brandon

[…] and that limits you a lot, I think – more than you realize, I think.  Like, these girls at the BBQ last wknd invited me over for dinner sometime.  I need to call them and accept. No Comments so […]

Pingback by Sameness. « Gefilte Fish Out of Water




Leave a Reply

