Gefilte Fish Out of Water


Felt great today
March 8, 2009, 10:25 pm
Filed under: Feelings

smiley

Really a tremendous day today.

1) Got my Teudat Zehut.

2) Wrote a first draft report for Voldy.  Voldy is working 22 hour days now, not exaggerating.  We’re starting our organization in the midst of the world’s biggest economic downturn ever, and it’s his dream, and he is NOT going to let it fail.  So, he asked my help writing a report.  I’m not discussing specifics about our organization in this blog, but what I want to say here is that – I write all the time in my profession.  But I write mainly press releases.  Today I wrote a first draft of an academic report of sorts – with footnotes and quotes and citations and shit.  The kind of thing I haven’t done since college 15 years ago.  Voldy’s re-writing it now; that’s not the point.  The point is, is that I know my draft made it easier for him than writing it from scratch.  I’m just really proud of the job I did today on it.

3) Went to an AA mtg after I finished the report.  There was an English speaking one at 7pm, or an English speaking men’s one at 8:15pm.  Checking out the men’s one would be cool, but I was finished now and the 7pm was starting soon, so I hopped on over.  (The only english speaking AA meetings in Tel Aviv are just around the corner from Voldy’s house, whadda ya know.)  Anyway, there was a woman there, and it was her first ever AA meeting.  She was just deciding today for the very first time to really get serious about stopping drinking.  That shit is just incredible.  I love that I got to be part of her first meeting and pass on a little of what has been so freely given to me.

That’s it.  Just an all-around great day.  I’m so glad I’m here, doing what I’m doing.  I can’t really belive it.  It’s happening so fast.  I’ve been here a week already.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

