Gefilte Fish Out of Water


Shabbat Shalom
March 6, 2009, 5:59 pm
Filed under: Friends

Five days into my story here, I finally did something social.

My friend Janie had invited me to join a weekend kick-off thing she and her gang do every Friday around 3pm.  I was glad to go.  I was dressed cazh.  Do you think I looked OK?

img_1623

Anyway, I had the nicest time and am so glad I was invited.  Everyone was really nice.  It’s abnormally warm in Israel right now for winter, and today felt like 80 degrees.  People were out in cafes of course, as they always are in Tel Aviv.  Janie’s friends were sitting in a circle, enjoying wine, champagne, pita, humus and cold cuts. 

Everyone was so nice.  I met Michal, who is a well known actress in Israel (trying to find a link to her on IMDB, but can’t spell last name), Tzachi (short for Yitzach), two guys name Avi, Bol, Sarah and Yuval.  They were trying to set me up with one of the guys, who recently became single.  I am not going to say who.  He is cute and very friendly.  Of course I loved it when he took an interest in this blog and logged onto it in Yuval’s dress shop.  I was invited back by Yuval to a party tonight at his place across from the dress shop.  I’ll probably go.

It was tremendously nice to feel included by a group of friends.  I have Voldy and the AA peeps, plus a few friends already in Tel Aviv I’ve been reluctant to lean on too much.  But this was really the first socializing I’ve done since I got here.  Let’s be honest – it’s been all work and immigrant stuff since I got here.  It’s good for me to get integrated and have some fun.  Thanks, Janie!  (She’s the blonde in these photos, and you would not believe what a character she is! 

Oh, I almost forgot to explain: Purim is Tuesday, but the parties have already started.  In Israel, Purim is sort of like Halloween.  It’s big dress-up time.  So Bol went around and put beautiful handmade scarves on all of us, and Janie had a regular fashion show trying on different outfits.

Also, Riki Gal was there, too.  She is a famous Israeli singer and used to be a judge on Kokhav Nolad (“A Star is Born,” the Israeli version of “American Idol.”)  Funny, I’ve now met two of the show’s four judges, b/c I already met Gal Uchovsky at the Toronto Film Festival in 2006 when he was there as co-producer of the film “The Bubble.”

Janie posing in her Purim outfit

Janie posing in her Purim outfit

Michal & Janie

Michal & Janie

Sarah & me

Sarah & me

Avi, Janie & me

Avi, Janie & me

Nira, Janie

Nira, Janie

Michal, Bol (I really like this shot)

Michal, Bol (I really like this shot)

Janie channels Madonna

Janie channels Madonna

Israeli Idol judge and pop star, Riki Gal

Israeli Idol judge and pop star, Riki Gal

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

