Gefilte Fish Out of Water


V.I.P.
March 4, 2009, 4:39 pm
Filed under: Official Immigrant Stuff

img_1598I was met by this guy as I came off the airplane.  Nice volunteer named Lee.  He himself is a vintage New Yorker, who made Aliyah 40 years ago and lives in a Tel Aviv suburb now.  I was able to ask him questions and such.  The first thing we did was go to a special line in the passport inspection area, away from the tourists.  We were joined by a Canadian making Aliyah.  Long story short, the Candian wasn’t in the system b/c of some data processing error related to his recent divorce.  It didn’t affect or delay me, but I felt bad for him.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…] solo.  And although the AACI (Association of Americans & Canadians in Israel) arranged for someone to greet me after I landed to help process my paperwork, basically there was no fanfare, and I just took my […]

Pingback by I’ve been to Aliyah, but…..it’s never been to me. (until yesterday) « Gefilte Fish Out of Water




Leave a Reply

