Gefilte Fish Out of Water


Show me the sheckels
March 4, 2009, 7:55 pm
Filed under: Official Immigrant Stuff

img_1603

I like free stuff.  You know what I like more than free stuff?  Free money!  I know that as part of my Oleh benefits, the government of Israel gives me a stipend for the first 7 months, called a “Sal Kiitah,”  but I didn’t realize they would give me the first payment at the airport.   Ka-ching!  1250 sheckels, or $304.   Believe me, it’s plenty hard being a new immigrant; it’s not like $304 solves all my problems.  But hey, it didn’t hurt either.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

