Gefilte Fish Out of Water


Excuse me, do you speak English?
June 5, 2009, 10:06 pm
Filed under: Pot Luck

english-do-you-speak-it-demotivational-poster

Most times, it’s me asking, “At medeberet Anglit?” (transliterized Hebrew for “Do you speak English?”)

Sometimes, it’s somone asking me for directions in Hebrew, and me having to answer with “Slicha, ani medeber Anglit.” (Sorry, I speak English.)

This time, though, it was a young woman, waiting next to me for a traffic light to change by Dizengoff Center (before my whole day turned to shit), who asked, “Excuse me, do you speak English?”  Sure, I’m from New York.  “Do you know your way around here?”  Yeah, I live her now.  I made Aliyah 3 months ago.  “Which way is the fountain – is it this way (points)?”  Yeah, it’s just down there, 3 blocks.  “Thank you.”  You’re welcome.

She really lucked out, being next to me.  I love helping people.


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

